An ideal evening

Being a person who enjoys mornings more than nights, I find it quite easy to wind down once the sun sets. Currently in Australia we’re moving through spring with a few showers, windy weather along with blue skies and warm afternoons. This kind of weather is conducive to relaxing evenings spent eating lighter meals and relaxing in the promise of summer to come. Part of the content feeling I have these days is also because I’ve been here a couple of months now and feel settled. The combination inspired me to share some of my crumbs on ways to chill out at night.

 

Face masks

I’m a lover of beauty products for my face, and enjoy a face mask a couple of times a week. On slow evenings after dinner, I like to take an early shower and pop a mask on (sheet mask or other variety, there is no discrimination here!). Wind and sun along with spring time pollen can make my skin a bit stroppy sometimes so a mask is welcome relief and comfort. Having a face mask on can also force you to talk less and sit still which paves the way nicely for my other favourite relaxing activities.

 

Story time

Settling on the couch or in bed with a book is a wonderful way to shut out the world. Whether it’s an exciting fiction novel, a soppy romantic story, inspiring biography or a heavier non-fiction tome on science, reading transports your attention to the page. In some ways it can be similar to guided meditation. Taking some time each evening to read a little also helps to get you through that undoubtedly long reading list that never seems to reduce!

 

Fresh pillowcases

It might seem a little weird but I like to change my pillowcase regularly. Originally this habit started out of a desire to keep my skin clean and reduce breakouts, but these days I also find it’s comforting to plop onto a freshly washed pillowcase. When it comes to pillowcases, I fork out a bit and buy higher thread count Egyptian cotton. It’s so soft! I’ve bought packs in plain white for the pillow I sleep on and never regretted it. Perhaps this is an odd quirk of mine, but hopefully there are other souls out there with a similar disposition towards clean sheets!

 

Sleep well friends!

Leave a comment